Concert or Performance

Map Address Book Today Visit Website Enquiry

Omega Ensemble: Melodies and Melodrama

Start date: 17 Dec 2022 / End date: 17 Dec 2022

Bennelong Point, Sydney NSW 2000, Sydney 2000


The mighty music of Brahms was a great influence on the lesser known Hungarian composer Ernö Dohnányi. While Brahms’ brooding Piano Quartet No.1 (notably premiered by Clara Schumann) may at first appear restrained compared to the decadence of Dohnányi’s colossal Sextet, the soaring melodies and sumptuous texture in both works are imbued with equal romantic passion and unabashed melodrama.

The finale of Omega Ensemble’s 2022 Season is marked by a new commission from French composer Laurent Lefrançois, whose works are equally marked by colourful twists and turns. With Dohnanyi’s Sextet featuring some of the most glorious melodic writing for French Horn, the Ensemble is joined for this performance by Nicolas Fleury, Principal Horn of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra.

Johannes Brahms: Piano Quartet No.1 in G minor
Laurent Lefrançois: New Sextet [World Premiere]
Ernö Dohnányi: Sextet in C major, Op.37

Event dates for next 12 Months: 17 Dec 2022 | 17 Dec 2022